Fall 2013 NLNI Meeting

The Fall 2013 New Leadership Networking Initiative (NLNI) meeting was held from November 11-13 in Austin, Texas, and drew 31 activists predominantly from Texas, Oklahoma, and New Mexico.

Heather Busby from NARAL Pro-Choice Te xas, Rocío Villalobos from Levanta Tejas/Rise Up Texas, and Jessica Luther, a freelance writer who coordinated social media during the special legislative sessions last summer, opened the meeting with presentations on their efforts to create broad, cross-movement coalitions to fight proposed abortion bans and funding cuts that would result in clinic closures. To provide targeted support to these activists working in particularly embattled and hostile contexts, CLPP received a Ford Foundation grant to bring trainers from RoadMap Consulting to conduct an extended, in-person version of their successful Weathering the Storms webinar.

Through formal training, interactive exercises, and case studies, trainers Mary Ochs and Elizabeth Toledo helped participants prepare for opposition attacks by strengthening organizational systems and policies and developing strategies to effectively frame and communicate their work. Participants received concrete resources to use with their own groups including sample communication plans and organizational preparedness checklists.

Fall meeting participants also attended a briefing at the State Capitol launching the Nuestro Texas campaign, sponsored by the National Latina Institute for Reproductive Health and the Center for Reproductive Rights, and a screening of Young Lakota, hosted by NARAL TX and the Lilith Fund for Reproductive Equity.

Participants and Trainers:

Aleta Alston-Toure  | Free Marissa Now

Andrea Flynn | Roosevelt Institute

Bianca “yucca” Westrup | Cicada Collective

Charlie Rose | MomsRising

Christie Barcelos  | Ford Fellow, UMass Amherst

Devona Kanesta  | INSPIRE HIV Prevention, First Nations Community HealthSource

Heather Busby | NARAL Pro-Choice Texas

Heather Hall | Oklahoma Coalition for Reproductive Justice

Iesha Ramos | Ford Fellow, UMass Amherst

Jessica Luther | Independent blogger/activist

Karolyn Chowning | Oklahoma Coalition for Reproductive Justice

Kasey Jernigan  | Ford Fellow, UMass Amherst

Kayden Moore | CLPP

Lindsay Rodriguez | Lilith Fund for Reproductive Equity

Lindsey O-Pries | National Network of Abortion Funds

Mallory Carlberg | Oklahomans for Reproductive Justice

Mallory Gladstein | Univ. of Oklahoma Center for Social Justice

Lupe Davidson | Univ. of Oklahoma Center for Social Justice

Martha Skeeters | Oklahoma Coalition for Reproductive Justice

Mia Kim Sullivan | CLPP

Micala Wood | Oklahoma Coalition for Reproductive Justice

Mim Shafer | Ford Fellow, UMass Amherst

Monica Raye Simpson | SisterSong Women of Color Reproductive Justice Collective

Noreen Khimji | Cicada Collective

Rocio Villalobos | Rise Up Texas/Levanta Texas

Sandra Criswell | Oklahomans for Reproductive Justice

Senti Sojwal | PopDev

Shalla Strider | Oklahoma Coalition for Reproductive Justice

Taryn Jordan | SPARK Reproductive Justice Now

Veronica Bayetti Flores | CLPP

Whisper C.K. | INSPIRE HIV Prevention, First Nations Community HealthSource